WELCOME TO LONGREACH
The centre of queensland's outback
In 1887 the township of Longreach was established. The name ‘Longreach’ was derived from the term
Long Reach of the Thomson River. In 1887 the first sale of Longreach town allotments were held and one
of the first blocks of land purchased, is now presently occupied by the MK Lawyers in Eagle Street.
The Thomson River located 4km out of town on the Landsborough Hwy is a popular recreational spot for locals. The River boasts great fishing for the angler at heart, with the catch of the day being Yellowbelly;
a fish that can grow up to 75 cm long.
Longreach is renowned for its iconic Australian heritage, as it is home to the Australian Stockman’s Hall of Fame, QANTAS Founders Museum and the Powerhouse Museum. The Powerhouse commenced operation
in 1921 and continued to be the supply of power to the shire until 1985. In 1994 the Powerhouse Museum
was opened, it contains the largest collection of preserved rural generating equipment in Australia.
Longreach is full of rich Australian heritage that offers an enjoyable and interesting stay for the whole family.
Live, Breath, Experience…..the heritage of the Outback in Longreach!
TOURISM & LEISURE
- Australian Stockman’s Hall of Fame: Mon – Sun
- QANTAS Founders Museum: Mon – Sun
- School of the Air Tours: Weekdays (no tours Christmas Holidays)
- Longreach Pastoral College Tours: Mon, Wed, Fri 10.30am
- Longreach Powerhouse Museum:
Tue - Fri seasonal April-Oct 9am-12pm
- 3 course Dinner Cruises-Times vary- Bookings essential
- Cobb and Co Coach Tours -Times vary- Bookings essential
- Outback Aussie Tours- Times vary - Bookings essential
Other Activities include; 747 and 707 Tours, Doll Display, Arts and Crafts Museum, visiting the Bureau of Meteorology, Day tours, joy flights by helicopter or plane and live bush poetry and music. See the Longreach Visitor Information Centre for full details of all Tours and Attractions.
The Star Cinema shows the latest movies on Thursday, Friday, Saturday
and Sunday. Check the notice board for session times.
The Longreach Library opens 6 days a week (times vary) and has
Tanks Cabs: (07) 4658 3600 Longreach Taxi: 0429 000 900
Tour companies provide coaches for pickup and drop off for the following activities – River Cruises,
Property Tours, Day Tours and all other over night tours.
Please see the Longreach Visitor Information Centre for details.
Greyhound Bus service operates daily to Brisbane and Mt Isa and twice a week to Longreach, Emerald, Rockhampton & Mackay.
Longreach Botanic Walkway is a 2.5 km linear garden between the town centre and the Australian Stockman’s Hall of Fame which also extends to the Longreach Pastoral College.
Iningai Park Nature Reserve- is named after the Iningai Traditional Owners who lived along the Thomson River prior to European occupation. The park is part of the Longreach Town Common and includes sections of floodplains and waterholes along the Gin Creek.
Live, Breath, Experience…..the heritage of the Outback in Longreach!
G’Day Welcome to Isiford
Established in the 1870’s the township of Isisford boasts a historical atmosphere in the present day. The misfortune of two early traders led to the development of the Isisford township. Attempting to cross the Barcoo, brothers William and James Whitman broke an axle and decided to settle on the banks of the river. A village soon developed, the siblings themselves erecting a hotel, butcher’s shop, store and saddlery among others. Originally named Whittown’ by the Whitmans in self-testament to their founding enterprise, the name was changed to Isisford in 1878 when a town was surveyed. The name was derived from a nearby ford on the Barcoo and because the Isis Downs property was in the proximity to it. Located in the main street are the original stores from settlement including the Hooper & Brunckhorst general store, the bakery and the butcher shop. The Barcoo River that flows next to the town was once named Victoria River but was changed to the Aboriginal name Barcoo meaning ‘Ice on Water’.
Things to do and see:
- Outer Barcoo Interpretive Centre, home of a life sized replica of ‘Isisfordia duncani’ that lived around Isisford 98 million years ago.
- Whitman’s Park and Museum
- Oma waterhole
- Mt Mitchell sites: Yuranigh’s Pond 6kms from town on the Isisford Emmet Road & another historical monument which is on the way to the Oma Waterhole.
- Barcoo Weir
- Idalia National Park
- Isisford Cemetery
Town facilities and services:
18 hole golf course, swimming pool, bowling green, primary health centre, hotels, fuel outlet,
police station, post office, playground, tennis court, ambulance, library and internet facilities.
Bush camping - Please see the Isisford branch of the Longreach Regional Council for permit.
Visit Emmet & Yaraka
Take the drive from Isisford to Yaraka, drop off to Emmet and visit the Railway Museum and Picnic area and envisage that this was once an active Railway settlement and then travel onto Yaraka, a pretty little town (the oasis) is nestled between the Yang Yang Ranges & Mt. Slocombe. Capture the changes in landscape and enjoy the rural views of different pastures and sceneries. Don’t miss the turnoff to Mt. Slocombe which is an easy drive up to the top with sealed road access, once you get to the top there is shaded BBQ facilites. Your chance to have lunch or dinner and an opportunity to capture the sunset or sunrise. Please do not tow any caravans up to the top, drop any vans or trailers at the bottom. Allow yourself a day or two, it is a comfortable day trip or make it two with the free camping available in Yaraka.
Yaraka Town Facilities:
Toilets / Showers
Tennis Court / Park
Hotel / Shop-Post Office
Illfracombe – the Hub of the West
The town originally known as Wellshot was renamed in 1891 to stop the confusion with the Wellshot Station; the irony is this outback town was actually named after a seaside village in England with the name Ilfracombe dating back to the Anglo Saxon times. In it’s peak, Ilfracombe boasted three hotels, a soft drink maker, a coach builder, two general stores,
a billiard saloon, a dressmaker, three commission agents, a couple of butchers, a baker
and a saddler.
During its heyday Ilfracombe was very much a town of firsts - in the 1890s Wellshot station boasted the largest head count of sheep in the world, while Beaconsfield station, to the town's north, developed innovative sheep wash that was at the forefront of wool processing technology. The motorised postal service from Ilfracombe to Isisford, begun in 1910, this was Australia's first.
Things to do and see in Ilfracombe:
- Visitor Information Centre in the famous Wellshot Centre
- Great Machinery Mile
- Hiltons Bottle Display
- Jackson Collections
- Langenbaker House
- Romani Hall
- The 12 Mile
Ilfracombe facilities include:
- General Store/Cafe with Gift Shop and Fuel
- Post Office/Library with internet, eftpos and Gift Shop
- Wellshot Hotel
- Caravan Park
- Memorial Park includes artesian spa, swimming pool and BBQ
. . Ilfracombe . . freely sharing its heritage with you!
For these or more fun activities to see and do while visiting the Longreach Shire call into the
Longreach Visitor Information Centre
and get some help from the friendly staff.